On this day …….. 21st of August 1842

Hobart Town, the main settlement in Van Diemen’s Land, is proclaimed a city.

Hobart is the capital city of Tasmania, Australia, and is the second oldest city in Australia, with Sydney being the oldest. It is Australia’s twelfth largest city. Hobart also serves as the home port for both Australian and French Antarctic operations.
The city began as a penal colony at Risdon Cove on the Derwent River in 1803 to offset British concerns over the presence of French explorers. A year later it was moved to its current location at Sullivan’s Cove. The name Hobart Town was adopted by the settlement in June 1804, after Lord Hobart the Colonial Secretary. The colony of Van Diemen’s Land was proclaimed a separate colony from New South Wales, with its own judicial establishment and Legislative Council, in December 1825. Hobart Town was proclaimed a city on 21 August 1842, and was renamed as Hobart in 1875.

Hobart Town, Van Diemen’s Land, proclaimed a city, Hobart, capital city of Tasmania, Australia, second oldest city in Australia, Sydney, Australian, French Antarctic operations, penal colony, Risdon Cove, Derwent River, French explorers, Sullivan’s Cove, Lord Hobart the Colonial Secretary